Sixteen new temples were announced by President Nelson at an October meeting

Plans to build 16 new temples were announced by President Russell M. Nelson on Sunday at the end of the 89th year of the General Conference of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. Renovations of the Provo Utah Temple were also announced.

The new temples will be built in the following locations:

  • Kaohsiung, Taiwan
  • Tacloban Guta, Philippines
  • Monrovia, Liberia
  • Kananga, Zimbabwe
  • Antananarivo, Madagascar
  • Culiacan, Mexico
  • Vitoria, Brazil
  • La Paz, Bolivia
  • Santiago West, Chile
  • Fort Worth, Texas
  • Cody, Washington
  • Rexburg North, Idaho
  • Heber Valley, Utah

Just a week ago, President Nelson announced 70 temples since he became president of the church in 2018.

The April proclamation of the twenty temples is one of the most widely known temples in the world. President Gordon B. Hinckley announced plans to build 32 new temples at the April 1998 general assembly but did not specify specific locations.

Leave a Comment